Regroup time

Yesterday I blogged about the importance of time to yourself after I witnessed a checkout operator describing her enjoyment of a morning to herself. I can see some hours today which are already labelled “time to myself” and I am really looking forward to those.

As I was thinking about the regenerative nature of a chunk of unpressured time to ourselves, I also thought about how all human beings, no matter their age need “regroup time”. A transition space where they allow time and often personal space to shift from one activity or focus to another. I am very aware of this in my own family as the adults come in from work and often settle with a newspaper or magazine while they regroup from the pressures of work, the drive home and a shift into more leisurely time in the evening.

School children benefit from regroup time as they shift from the demands of the school routine, learning, noisy groups of friends and any personal challenges of the day. A slow drift home on foot is ideal, some food and water when they arrive home, and time outdoors just mucking around allows them to restore so many aspects of their being.

I noticed my two year old grandson needed some regroup time when he woke up from his midday sleep recently. He was happy to sit on my knee and allow me to cuddle him but apart from that he just needed regroup time to shift back into full of energy and movement mode.

No doubt neuroscience could explain what happens to our brains and why we need regroup time but for now we simply need to care for ourselves and our children by providing this important part of being human.

2 thoughts on “Regroup time

  1. Juliet batten

    That’s so true; I notice with my granddaughter how disoriented she is after waking from her afternoon nap. I like the concept of regroup time. It’s so apt, and applies to many situations.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygoodness Post author

      I used to give my disoriented wee ones some Rescue Remedy which sometimes helped. I feel concerned for so many school children who have to go straight from their school day to more organised time at after school care groups….little or no regroup time for them until they get home at night.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

