Happy Birthday Bob and some nostalgia

I see by the news that it is Bob Dylan’s 70th birthday today and also that a friend on Facebook asked the question today: “What was the first piece of music that you bought for yourself?”

I think I bought a 45rpm record of Bobby Vee singing “The Night has a Thousand Eyes”……some time in 1967 when I had enough money to pay for it myself.   I recall the Big girls at primary school dancing to the early Beatles hits and Bob Dylan’s “Blow’in in the Wind” was around too.

I also remember more vividly my younger brother buying “On the Road again”, by Canned Heat in 1967 or ’68.  He used some money he had been given for his birthday.  Our mother was horrified at his purchase and marched him and the record back to the shop and insisted that it be returned.  She very obviously felt that a 10 year old did not need “pop” music at that age!  We were so disappointed as we loved that song.

I also recall listening on my small transistor radio at night to Pirate Radio station, Radio Hauraki which was the one place we could hear all the latest music off the Pop Charts.

What songs did you grow up listening to?  And do you recall the first piece of music that you bought for yoursef?

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Bob and some nostalgia

  1. julietbatten

    I listened to Bob Dylan yesterday too – he seems to keep on keeping on. Music sets off such memories doesn’t it?

    Reply
    1. ordinarygoodness Post author

      Music is such a powerful trigger…..sometimes bitter, sometimes sweet, sometimes so comical, like the Goons singing the Ying Tong song which my late father enjoyed so, so much and which I think is just wonderful too. Apparently it only uses two chords…..I didn’t know that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

