The Wedding Rose blooms in our garden

We had a wedding at Xmas time 2011 and my husband (father of the groom) received a rose for his Xmas present from the newly weds. The rose is called “The Wedding rose”.

It has put its roots down into the garden and is responding to water, feeding and mulching by putting out new blooms.

I took my camera out in the dusky light last evening and captured this lovely bloom.

2012_0212Image0037 (1280x960)

I went looking today for a quote about roses and really enjoyed the cleverness of this quote. It also seemed appropriate for a rose that commemorates weddings.

“Won’t you come into the garden? I would like my roses to see you.”
Richard Brinsley Sheridan

9 thoughts on “The Wedding Rose blooms in our garden

  1. Marian Kerr

    A beautiful photo of a beautiful rose.
    Here is another quote about roses you might enjoy ~
    “One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon-instead of enjoying the roses blooming outside our windows today.” Dale Carnegie

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Thank you Marian. It is proving to be delightful and interesting to take a photo in dusky light. I love that quote you have posted. I am about to post it separately, I like it so much.

      Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      I love the deep green foliage which sets off the creamy flowers. We will have to keep it pruned if it likes our garden as much as it liked yours Judith.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: A wedding feast | ordinarygoodness

Leave a Reply

