Blogging the globe

In recent weeks WordPress has added a new statistical feature allowing me to see in which country people who have read my blog each day live. I’m an old geographer from way back and I have always enjoyed learning about new countries so this feature really appeals to me.

I have been pleasantly surprised to find just how far and wide my blog posts reach some days.

One country that had me reaching for my Atlas was The Faroe Islands.

I had not heard of these islands previously. I discovered a series of islands in the north of the Atlantic Ocean, between Norway and Iceland.

This link gives more detail about these beautiful islands.

I was also fascinated and humbled by reading about the Lace knitting that originates from this community. The way they construct their shawls is incredible.

Image off Wikipedia

So wherever you live on earth welcome to my blog and thank you for reading it. You make it an enriching experience.

6 thoughts on “Blogging the globe

  1. juliet

    How fascinating it is how blogging reaches so far and wide, and even into countries we haven’t heard of. The shawl looks so intriguing.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      I like the sense of connection that comes from blogging Juliet. It is quite something to cast on hundreds and hundreds of stitch to begin and then decrease from that point….and it seemed that the decreasing was intuitive rather than charted. I loved that the shawl shape is like butterfly wings.

      Reply
  2. Northern Narratives

    Wow, when I saw The Faroe Islands, I knew the place was known for beautiful knitting. 🙂 Judy

    Reply
  3. realruth

    I love the connections too. In the early morning my visitors tend to be from the northern hemisphere, but by the end of the day the majority are from N.Z. One country I had to look up was Gabon, which is in West Central Africa.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      I’ve noted that North American often pop up early in the morning too Ruth. It is great that they visit our blogs.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

