Light work

The days are lengthening noticeably here now as we head to the longest day in just over a month’s time. The garlic is looking increasingly closer to harvesting time.

The light is playing games in the house right now. I am finding it in unusual and unexpected patches at different times of the day.

Then today we are experiencing a partial solar eclipse in relatively fine, calm conditions. There is some high cloud about but as I type this the sunlight entering the house is very dull and the birds have gone much quieter.

At full “eclipse” today 76% of the sun will be obscured by the moon. It certainly gives an eerie, hazy light to things outdoors. The sunlight has a different quality to it and my eyes are not finding it a familiar light at all.

The house is very dark in rooms where the sun does not reach at this time of day. But Jazz, our cat is still content to bask in any sunshine on offer out there

I’m a fan of mellow light and I find the blazing light of summer and the long periods of day challenging at times. Many others thrive in that strength and abundance. Which do you prefer?

8 thoughts on “Light work

  1. rosedixon

    Firstly, Jazz is beautiful. We are nearing the shortest day of the year, next month. I know what you mean about the long days of summer. You sound a bit like me, you like balance. I ,like a period of dusky mellowness before I go to bed, that sort of in between border time.

    Reply
  2. Jo Woolf

    Interesting shots of the light. I haven’t been keeping up with astronomical events recently so I was unaware of the eclipse. I would love to experience one. As for the sunlight, any kind is welcome but I guess I prefer the more diffuse effects of early morning and late evening.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Partial solar eclipses are pretty amazing to experience. A family member felt the diminished sunlight was much whiter in quality. I tried to take some photos of the same object as things progressed but there were no observable differences. I imagine you would need special camera gear or settings to capture the altering light. There was a real stillness for an hour or so too…..perhaps the effect of sun, moon and earth in alignment?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

