Bird tales/tails

Two Keruru (NZ Wood Pigeon) were spotted by a family member at a nearby Keruru(More infomation about them here) “hang-out” spot so we headed down to this wooded area, armed with cameras, in the hope that they would still be there.

At first we could not see any, but these are shy birds, whose backs blend in with the leaves and they like to perch in very tall trees. They are clever at hiding.

I did spot one and moved towards it as quietly as I could. As so often happens the bird spotted me and turned gracefully around to face away from me.

More stealth was required and with good fortune I could see the Keruru snoozing. The head of the Keruru is very small in comparison with its very large body and they tend to hunker into themselves when sleepy.

Hence the headless photo!2012_1228Image0016

I waited patiently but zzzzz’ing was on the agenda with this bird. I turned around to find a rather inquisitive Thrush nearby. My movement caused it to scamper off a bit and with an inadequate zoom lens it looks very small here. We played a little “Catch me if you can.”

2012_1228Image0019

2012_1228Image0017

2012_1228Image0018

However my attention on the Thrush seemed to rouse the Keruru and I got this shot. Perhaps the Keruru liked the “Catch me” game too?

2012_1228Image0020

2 thoughts on “Bird tales/tails

    1. ordinarygood Post author

      After visiting another Keruru “hotspot” this afternoon I have to wonder if they don’t hide away from the very aggressive Tuis. No tree is big enough for a tui to share we observed today. Despite its reluctance to come out to you I’m glad you have one near your bach to watch and enjoy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

