A walk in the Tree tops

One of the special features at Otari Open air plant Museum is the Tree top walk.
This wooden walkway begins here with a Waharoa or gateway into a spiritual realm.
DSCF4798
DSCF4799
Ahead are tall trees.
DSCF4800
The walkway bridges the Open air Museum to the Information Centre and spans a deep, deep gully.
DSCF4801
For those who dare to look over the sturdy rail there are fascinating views to be had.
Look at the wonderful star shape that forms in the crown of a large tree fern.
DSCF4804
While the walkway is in the canopy of tall New Zealand Native trees there are plenty which reach higher than the walkway.
DSCF4803
This is where we spotted one Keruru.
DSCF4816
Every so often there are views out over the greater Otari Bush reserve showing viewers this very rugged countryside that is so typical of the hills of Wellington.
DSCF4819

And the density of the native bush when it is left to its own devices.
DSCF4802
Some very old and beautiful specimen are within reach.
DSCF4806
And at the end of the walkway there is another Keruru perched very high up on what appears to be a twig.
DSCF4807
While we had something of a bird’s eye view on the walkway we were really being viewed all the while by the birds.

15 thoughts on “A walk in the Tree tops

  1. Gallivanta

    I am sure the birds were watching you very closely. I have been on that walkway once. It was a great experience. I like the explanation of the Waharoa. Very helpful and informative.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      I dislike heights too Diana but my companions encouraged me to look at the crown of the tree fern and I am glad I overcame my fear at that point. A little further along it was a very long drop to the floor of the gully but I avoided that. The trees all around the walkway were very protective.

      Reply
  2. realruth

    The walkway looks absolutely wonderful, and I’d love to try it. This week I’m going to the Ellerslie International Flower Show – a more down to earth example of amazing flora.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      I think you would enjoy it Ruth. I look forward to blog posts from the Ellerslie IFS. A school in Raumati has entered a garden – that seems quite an undertaking. I hope they gain some recognition – they are keen gardeners.

      Reply
      1. realruth

        I saw the Raumati South School exhibit on Sunday during the Volunteers’ training. A very confident pupil talked to us about it all.

      2. ordinarygood Post author

        I see in the paper today that they won a Silver award. I have seen them at local Garden expos and admired their knowledge and enthusiasm.

  3. Jo Woolf

    What a lovely walk! The trees and bushes are all so different from ours, and I love the tree fern. Do the Keruru ‘coo’ like pigeons – because they look like pigeons to me?!

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Thanks Jo. I love being in our native bush. It is pretty unique I think. Here is a link to a sound recording of the Keruru. http://www.doc.govt.nz/conservation/native-animals/birds/land-birds/nz-pigeon-kereru/facts/new-zealand-pigeon-sound-recording/ They do “coo” in a very soft fashion judging by this recording….you have to listen above the running water, cicadas, microphone jiggling but there are some “coo’s”. The wing beats are so often what draws our attention to them.
      They are also known as Wood Pigeons so you are correct about their look.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

