Magical Monday Afternoon

My suspicions were that we had a Bellbird back in the neighbourhood. The Bellbird or Korimako (such a beautiful Maori name for this bird) has the most delightful song but the clever Tuis can mimic it so a sighting is the only real proof.

Captain Cook, who led explorations to New Zealand, described the song of the Bellbird as sounding β€œlike small bells exquisitely tuned.”

I noted a Bellbird visitor back in February and March 2012 on my blog.

Proof perfect happened yesterday as I got out of my car and heard the most beautiful song coming from the Silver Birch tree above me. Sure enough there was a male Bellbird, olive green but with glimpses of black and iridescent shaded feathers, singing to me before he flew off rapidly across the road to a large Bottle brush tree. As a nectar feeder that tree will be providing good food right now.

Later in the afternoon I sat at an upstairs window and watched him chase and catch an insect and then bully two starlings from another tree. A tree large enough for all three birds with space to spare! He is smaller than a starling too but that was not of any importance it would seem.

Do I have a photo of this very welcome visitor? No, but I will work on that. They are extremely well camouflaged birds and quick in their movements.

In the meantime here is a photo of a Bellbird
bellbird source doc.govt.nz
source doc.govt.nz

and here is website to give you a lot more information about yet another of our wonderful native birds who are returning to our suburbs in increasing numbers.

15 thoughts on “Magical Monday Afternoon

    1. ordinarygood Post author

      That is a shame. I think they prefer heavily wooded areas – native bush particularly. They are only just appearing here thanks to all the efforts to increase native bird numbers.

      Reply
      1. kiwiskan

        There don’t seem to be any bellbirds north of Auckland. Not sure why. Have sometimes if they have been pushed out by the Mynah birds

  1. Gallivanta

    Just listened to a bellbird recording on the DOC website and I now think that I have heard them in the bush. The first sound recording is a lovely conversation amongst 5 Bellbirds πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      They have a wonderful song don’t they? That recording is amazing. So far I have just heard a solo not a quintet….something to hope for in time perhaps?

      Reply
      1. Gallivanta

        Yes, your bellbird may decide that, even if it doesn’t want to share with the starlings, it would be okay to call a few other bellbirds.

  2. mothercat2013

    I didn’t realise that the clever tui could mimic the bellbird! I know I’ve always confused the two calls and am never quite sure which one I was hearing, so now I reckon I’ve got even less chance of knowing which one it is! πŸ˜‰ I hear them in the garden at work but have never sighted either of them, so I shall make more of an effort now.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      The Bellbird who keeps popping in here definitely has a clearer more melodious song compared with the local Tuis. I did have to see the Bellbird to confirm my suspicions….I have to pinch myself over having so many native birds in the garden and neighbourhood nowadays.
      Good luck with your bird spotting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

