So what about these earthquakes?

If you go here you will get graphs and statistics to show just how many earthquakes have been recorded in Wellington.

We are fortunate here because we are not feeling every one. The people in Seddon and the Marlborough areas in the South Island have been having a much rougher time. There has been widespread damage and the people are feeling most of the aftershocks because they are so shallow.

For a different format from the official Seismic scientists go here:

Here are some of our provisions and supplies in case we are hit by a damaging earthquake:

This is an emergency solar powered radio with a wind-up dynamo. It is also a torch and has an attachment to charge up cell phones.

DSCF5527

Candles,matches, emergency radio, bottled water, hand sanitiser

Candles,matches, emergency radio, bottled water, hand sanitiser

Food supplies for humans and cats,

Food supplies for humans and cats,

Bottled water, long life milk, rubbish sacks, wipes, hand sanitiser.

Bottled water, long life milk, rubbish sacks, wipes, hand sanitiser.

Paper towels and rechargable torch and USB  for the car cigarette lighter to recharge cameras, laptops and phones

Paper towels and rechargable torch and USB for the car cigarette lighter to recharge cameras, laptops and phones

Gas-fired Barbeque at the ready if we need it to cook on.

Gas-fired Barbeque at the ready if we need it to cook on.

Cell phone and charger, headlight.

Cell phone and charger, headlight.

Bulk loo paper

Bulk loo paper

Small solar powered torch that I keep by my bed and my Rescue Remedy spray
DSCF5537

Old fashioned analogue telepnone that plugs into a phone jack and which does not rely on electricity or batteries.

Old fashioned analogue telepnone that plugs into a phone jack and which does not rely on electricity or batteries.

There are still some gaps to fill in our supplies and we need to sharpen up some aspects of our plans
.
This blog post from Moata in Christchurch offers some very helpful tips borne of very real experience. I’m working on some of them.

17 thoughts on “So what about these earthquakes?

      1. Gallivanta

        Ah, you have been prepared for awhile then. Excellent. Actually, a friend from Wellington came to see me during our quakes and she helped me put together most of my emergency supplies based on her own preparations in Wellington.

      2. ordinarygood Post author

        Yes we have had been prepared in a very basic way for a long time. But I have watched and learnt from your experiences in Christchurch and upped the ante considerably.

      3. Gallivanta

        Wondering whether I have enough water is my biggest worry. For a long time I kept a thermos of hot water at the ready, day and night ,so that I could have a hot drink if need be, if there was a sudden power failure.

      4. ordinarygood Post author

        I am sure we don’t have enough stored water. We can buy a water butt for $105 with all the attachments etc from the City Council at the moment. We don’t have a flat area to site one but with a bit a ingenuity we may be able to get something sorted. I would value extra water to use on the garden during dry spells. I took my small wind up torch with me to the supermarket tonight, just in case.

      5. Gallivanta

        I have had a torch attached to my handbag since 2010!!!! And a small Kathmandu one on my keyring! That is very helpful of the City Council. I wish our Council would assist with something like that.

  1. Leanne

    Oh my we have that torch/radio and I didn;t know it could charge cell phone Have to have another look at it LOL. I will get a car lighter to charge cell phones Thanks.

    One thing we have is a bag of small money – the CHCH people shared that when shops closed they couldn’t give change so they were handing over $20 to get items. Each of our cars have an emergency kit including a little bag of cash.

    Love Leanne

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Hmmm I might not be correct about the radio/torch being able to charge up phones. The other wind-up torch (silver) definitely can but the connection is no longer the right sort for our phones….mutter, mumble. Technology moves on so fast and in directions not always anticipated….a bit like herding cats!!!!:-)
      I like your tip about small money. I will consider where to stash my bag of loot!

      Reply
  2. Forest So Green

    Wow, so many things we use or need everyday, it is good to be prepared, I like the outdoor barbeque, that would be very good. I hope you never have to use your earthquake kit.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      There are so many things to think about if power and water are no longer available and shops are closed etc. We are very fond of barbeques here in New Zealand when the weather is warm. Most households would have one I think:-) We hope the earth settles down and we can get back to normal patterns.

      Reply
  3. Jo Woolf

    You are so well prepared but I am really hoping you won’t need all these supplies and provisions. Has there been much damage where the worst shocks have been felt? Stay safe, all of you!

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Thanks Jo. Our terrain here means there are only two main roads into Wellington. Both are likely to be blocked or badly damaged in a large earthquake so we could well be cut off for quite some time. Water, power and sewage systems were badly disrupted in Christchurch so we’ve learnt from that. Seddon, the small town in the South Island closest to the epicentres has been badly hit. Every house there has sustained some damage. Some worse than others. We have seen very little coverage of this in our media which we are finding a bit odd to say the least. Things have quietened a lot so we are hoping……?!? I wonder why we live here at times like this but I love my country and could not imagine living anywhere else.

      Reply
      1. Jo Woolf

        I can understand why you’re prepared, in that case. There has certainly been no coverage in our media here, but I am surprised that your own media isn’t giving it priority. People are bound to be worried, but it’s far better to know what’s going on. I would feel the same about Scotland, if it were threatened by earthquakes.

      2. ordinarygood Post author

        I suspect the lack of coverage has something to do with the reduced numbers of reporters employed by the media now. Most are working in the main cities, not in small towns.
        We are constantly exhorted to be prepared here in the Shakey Isles. We know why now after Christchurch.

Leave a Reply

