Green for healing

The Man of the House and I have fallen prey to a miserable virus. There is a line-up of immune boosting supplements, cold and flu relief products, boxes of tissues, cough lozenges and extra fluid options in evidence at the moment.
We have needed an abundance of healing vibes and green is a colour for that. The beautiful light and my need for some fresh air drew me out into the garden on Thursday as the sun was lowering in the sky. Greens everywhere took my eye and offered freshness and something of a mirror to our current vulnerability.
DSCF5756

DSCF5752

DSCF5757
DSCF5758
Fresh and new growth does not always survive an onslaught.
DSCF5749
But in a turn for the better, as the dreary symptoms begin to abate, I spotted this beauty as I ventured down to the shop for some more cough lozenges for the MoH. It heralds a return to being “in the pink” once again and we are really looking forward to that!
DSCF5760
DSCF5761
By the way…..this is a Chinese Toon tree and it always reminds me of Dr Seuss and his wonderful stories and rhymes which hold so much wisdom and offer so much fun and laughter (which is the best medicine!!)
You can go here to find out more about this amazing tree and how it has even more medicinal uses.

20 thoughts on “Green for healing

  1. Juliet

    Lynley, you have my sympathies! I’ve been struggling with the same thing. May green healing reach into your cells and bring you new energy. Thanks for the link to the Toon tree. Ours is leafing now as well.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Thank you Juliet. I thought of you as we succumbed to this virus and hoped you were improving steadily. Others have been having a similar experience.
      I also remembered that you have a Toon tree near you too. The one I have photographed is down the road from us but it always makes me smile and think of Dr Seuss. Interesting that is offers a variety of vegetable options in Chinese cooking and a wide range of medicinal uses:-)

      Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      It is tedious to be so under the weather…..the latter has been tedious too. But that Toon tree is a delight isn’t it. I doubt I could bring myself to eat bits off it unless I had a whole orchard of them. I imagine Dr Seuss birds flying about in it when it looks so resplendent!

      Reply
  2. E A M Harris

    Lovely pictures. I hope the healing will work for you. I always tell myself when I have a cold in the autumn that I’m building up resistance to get through the winter without being ill. Often it comes true.

    Reply
  3. Forest So Green

    I have never seen a Chinese Toon tree so thank you for the beautiful photos and hope you are feeling much better, Annie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

