“Look I can do it myself!”

Yesterday in the lovely sunshine I spotted this ball of downy feathers sitting on the edge of the water bowl we leave outside for Jazz to drink from.
DSCF5856
Jazz often prefers much cloudier water he finds in empty flower pots and the birds often drink from the orange bowl.
Blackbirds enjoy a bath in the orange bowl too.
I did not manage to get a photo of this blackbird fledgling’s first splash but I am sure I saw surprise register on his/her face and she/ he very promptly hopped out. However instinct took over and back in it went with water flying everywhere and a great deal of preening and awkward, uncoordinated fluttering.
DSCF5857

DSCF5858
DSCF5855
DSCF5859
It really reminded me of a small child attempting and then managing a new skill.
Today I can hear younger blackbird fledglings urging their tireless parents on to bring them more food. The torrential rain we had on Thursday has ensured an excellent supply of worms and tasty treats thank goodness. There may be more bird bath antics to come!

10 thoughts on ““Look I can do it myself!”

    1. ordinarygood Post author

      I was very surprised that it did not scarper (?sp) as I edged nearer to the glass sliding door. Blackbird fledglings can be too trusting for their own good at times! No problems this time though as Jazz was sound asleep in the house and I was no threat to it. It did have a lovely time with lots of splashing!

      Reply
  1. Juliet

    How delightful that you caught this on camera Lynley. You are getting very good at snapping the birds. They are so fascinating to watch.

    Reply
  2. Gallivanta

    These photos are fabulous/delightful. Your patient bird watching is reaping rewards for all of us. Is your camera on sport mode for these photos? Our little cat loves pure clean water. Jack, on the other hand, always rejects his clean bowl of water for whatever dirty drops he can find in the garden!

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Thank you. I am so pleased you get enjoyment from them too. I need to check the mode of the camera. I had to move with some speed to gain these photos and did not think to check whether it was on sport or auto….d’uh!
      Jazz adores shower water off the floor of the shower too….at least your cat has “taste”!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

