A garden in Hawkes Bay

We stayed with relatives in Hawkes Bay and in a welcome space of time away from the hospital I wandered about their lovely garden with the camera.

The climate in Hawkes Bay is so very different to our one here in Porirua and gardens grow luxuriantly there. Different plants thrive in the dry, scorching heat of summer and the frosty cold winters.

So here are some of the plants I photographed during my time out in nature. The intense heat and light of mid morning was not the best time for photography but I wanted to capture those extremes.

DSCF6144
DSCF6159
DSCF6154

DSCF6150
DSCF6167
DSCF6146
DSCF6171
DSCF6161

DSCF6165

27 thoughts on “A garden in Hawkes Bay

      1. Gallivanta

        I had an irrigation system but it always needed maintenance and I didn’t keep up with it. Then when there are water shortages it can’t be used anyway so if any watering gets done here it is by hose or watering can.

      2. ordinarygood Post author

        I will give these gardeners the benefit of the doubt about a bore they might have to use for watering but I suspect I might be being generous.

      1. ordinarygood Post author

        That is not surprising. I avoided reading some horror “news” article about earthquake potential off the east coast. We live with great uncertainty.

    1. ordinarygood Post author

      HB is very dry in summer but this garden has a watering system for plants and the grass! If you check the Tags at the bottom of the post you will see some of the names of the plants. There are some I don’t know. The garden is beautiful and laid out so well.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Stunning hydrangeas | ordinarygoodness

Leave a Reply

