What are these?

Can you identify these please?

DSCF4876

DSCF4877

DSCF4878

20 thoughts on “What are these?

    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Hi Juliet. They are cape gooseberries in their wonderful papery cases. I have just learnt about them from my neighbour over the fence where they are growing and showing through into my garden.

      Reply
  1. Gallivanta

    Pretty cape gooseberries. I can’t remember what you do with them in terms of cooking. I think we used to eat them as is when we were kids. I liked them more than real gooseberries.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Apparently they make great jam and are rich in iron. They make a nice relish according to “Chef Google”……! Some people love eating them ripe off the bush.

      Reply
  2. mothercat2013

    Ooh, I remember Cape gooseberries from my childhood in Zimbabwe – they’re yummy! Gosh, I haven’t seen them in years – I suspect the winters might be too harsh for them in Christchurch, though. And I notice that I’ve automatically put a capital C on the cape, because I associate them with Cape Town (goodness knows why, now I come to think of it …): but perhaps the cape means the covering of the berry, and not the region??

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Some people really love them fresh off the bush others make jam or sauces with them. Indigenous to South America, grown in England where they seem better known as Physalis which is part of their Latin name and also grown in South Africa, hence the Cape! They are frost tender so Christchurch may be too chilly for them to survive.

      Reply
  3. helena mallett

    Yes they are a gooseberry. They are delicious but can have mould around them so wash carefully. Maybe that’s just when they’ve travelled all the way here to the UK though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

