Views from our two back doors

Celi over here has recently invited her sizeable readership to post photos of the view from their back porches or back doors.

We have two back doors, although one technically is a side door. It is the one that we use all the time to access the back part of the section.
This is a view from this door.

DSCF5263

The other door, the official back door, is very rarely used and looks out on to some pots and my collection of tubs in which I grow a few vegetables and a peep through some deck railings to our Golden Elm tree and Cabbage tree.
DSCF5264

DSCF5266

Do go and look at the many and varied views that Celi has collated on her blog. It has proved to be a colourful challenge that many have met with their stunning photos.

12 thoughts on “Views from our two back doors

    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Some of the photos on Celi’s blogs are breath-taking.
      I grow lettuce and silverbeet all year round. I’ve had good crops of garlic, elephant garlic and dwarf beans too.
      The downside is keeping them well watered.
      They filled with hail this afternoon:-((

      Reply
      1. Gallivanta

        Yes, the hail; and we had a touch of snow too. It is close to freezing point at the moment. What will my garden look like tomorrow? I had a look at Celi’s blog too; stunning. I love the photo of someone’s thyme lawn.

      2. ordinarygood Post author

        It is still very, very cold here this morning. The garden seems to have survived the lashings of the gale and the hail.
        I hope your garden has fared well and you were not affected by the earthquake this morning. We had one of those yesterday in the midst of the rough weather. I think of Christchurch when we feel an earthquake now.

      3. Gallivanta

        Ah, so we did have an earthquake; it wasn’t a bad dream or the wild wind after all. Hope your earthquake was mild. We have sun this morning and, miraculously, the garden seems intact.

  1. Pingback: Wild Storms, Electric Shocks and Back Doors | thekitchensgarden

    1. ordinarygood Post author

      It is a favourite space to enjoy. When the weather is kind, as it was ALL summer this year, we sit out there enjoying the shade of that ever interesting Japanese maple tree.

      Reply
  2. pattisj

    Nice to meet Celi’s best friend. 🙂 We have two back doors, too. I forgot it is autumn where you are until I saw your colorful tree.

    Reply
    1. ordinarygood Post author

      Hi pattisj, I am certainly a great fan of Celi and read her blog every morning without fail but I think Deb is her best friend she mentions – the one with the cute chook house and stunningly tall tree in its autumn leaves. That colourful tree gives me so much pleasure in a spot used every day.

      Reply
      1. pattisj

        When I scrolled back I thought maybe I got them mixed up. Thanks for taking the time to get me sorted out! Are you in NZ too?

Leave a Reply

